Online IOP for College Students and Emerging Adults in MA in Network with Carelon

Education News

Excellence in Psychotherapy Award Winners Announced

November 3, 2021
“Identifying the next generation of psychodynamic and biopsychosocial psychiatrists, educators, and/or leaders, and supporting their development is critical to the field of psychiatry,” says David Mintz, MD, director of psychiatric education. “That’s why, three years ago, we initiated the Austen Riggs Award for Excellence in Psychotherapy.”
The annual award recognizes and supports the development of psychiatric residents who have demonstrated interest and ability in psychodynamic psychotherapy and/or psychodynamic psychiatry or have shown promise as researchers in biopsychosocial approaches to psychiatric practice, including psychotherapy.
Each year, program directors of psychiatry residency programs are invited to nominate and submit one of their current residents at any level of training for consideration.
The 2021 Austen Riggs Award for Excellence in Psychotherapy recipients are:
Dhruv Gupta
Mt. Sinai/Elmhurst
Michael Huang
University of Pennsylvania
Daniella Sampaio
Sheppard Pratt
Stephen Downey
University of Colorado
Meera Chatterjee
Victoria Teague
Campbell University / Cape Fear Valley Health
Desiree Li
Thomas Roach
University of Toledo
Zicole Brown
Prisma Health / University of South Carolina
Miriam Winthrop
Recipients of the Award for Excellence in Psychotherapy receive $250 and a certificate of honor.