Online IOP for College Students and Emerging Adults in MA in Network with Carelon

Education News

2023 Excellence in Psychotherapy Award Winners Announced

Aaron M. Beatty, MA|
November 16, 2023
“Identifying the next generation of psychodynamic and biopsychosocial psychiatrists, educators, and/or leaders, and supporting their development is critical to the field of psychiatry,” says David Mintz, MD, director of psychiatric education. “That’s why we initiated the Austen Riggs Award for Excellence in Psychotherapy.” 
The annual award, now in its 5th year, recognizes and supports the development of psychiatric residents who have demonstrated interest and ability in psychodynamic psychotherapy and/or psychodynamic psychiatry or have shown promise as researchers in biopsychosocial approaches to psychiatric practice, including psychotherapy.
Each year, program directors of psychiatry residency programs are invited to nominate and submit one of their current residents at any level of training for consideration. You can nominate a resident for consideration for the 2024 award here.
The 2023 Austen Riggs Award for Excellence in Psychotherapy recipients are: