2015 Erikson Institute Prize for Excellence in Mental Health Media Colloquy Presentations

Published on 
August 2015

Every day, the public’s understanding of mental health issues is shaped by print, online press and broadcast media, as well as by the arts. The purpose of the Erikson Institute Prize for Excellence in Mental Health Media colloquy is to recognize and encourage writers, journalists, and media experts who have produced sophisticated and accessible work on mental health issues and to learn about various aspects of carrying out this work. The colloquy featured the 2015 winners of the Erikson Institute Prize for Excellence in Mental Media: Alison Bechdel, Stephanie McCrummen and William Todd Schultz, PhD, - who have brought nuance, compassion and rigor to their writing and reporting on issues related to mental health. 

Introduction: Joshua Wolf Shenk and Jane G. Tillman, PhD, ABPP


Alison Bechdel

Alison Bechdel is an Eisner Award winner, MacArthur “genius” grant recipient and author of the graphic memoir, Fun Home, the Broadway adaptation of which was shortlisted for the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, earned 12 Tony Award nominations and won five Tony Awards, including Best Musical.


Stephanie McCrummen

Stephanie McCrummen is a reporter at The Washington Post whose features on mental illness and other subjects have included a profile of a Virginia state senator whose son attacked him with a knife and then committed suicide.


William Todd Schultz, PhD

William Todd Schultz, PhD, is a psychologist and scholar who is a leading writer and editor of psychobiography. He has written about photographer Diane Arbus, writer Truman Capote and musician Elliot Smith among others.