Online IOP for College Students and Emerging Adults in MA in Network with Carelon

General News

Erikson Institute Awards $1,000 Scholarships to Local High School Graduates

July 14, 2022
Initiated by the scholarship’s namesake and continued in her honor by the Erikson Institute for Education, Research, and Advocacy of the Austen Riggs Center, the Evelyn Stefansson Nef Scholarship is awarded annually (since 2000) to students from Lenox Memorial High School, Monument Mountain High School, and Lee High School who are selected for their record of academic excellence throughout the high school years, their stated intention to study social sciences or pre-medical studies in a four-year college program, and their demonstrated leadership in community service. The $1,000 scholarship is paid to recipients after they complete their first semester of college. 
The 2022 scholarship recipients are: 
  • Elana Doren, a 2022 graduate of Monument Mountain High School, who will be attending the New School and plans to study Philosophy and Sociology. She also has interests in Economics, Women and Gender Studies, and Education Design.
  • Piper Maxymillian, a 2022 graduate and class valedictorian of Lenox High School, who will be attending Williams College and will major in psychology and minor in cognitive science. 
  • Emma Putin, a 2022 graduate of Lee High School, who will be attending Connecticut College and will major in psychology. 
Evelyn Stefansson Nef was an author, lecturer, patron of the arts, philanthropist, Arctic explorer, psychotherapist, and a benefactor of the Austen Riggs Center who passed away in 2009.