Online IOP for College Students and Emerging Adults in MA in Network with Carelon

Education News

2022 Excellence in Psychotherapy Award Winners Announced

December 1, 2022
“Identifying the next generation of psychodynamic and biopsychosocial psychiatrists, educators, and/or leaders, and supporting their development is critical to the field of psychiatry,” says David Mintz, MD, director of psychiatric education. “That’s why, four years ago, we initiated the Austen Riggs Award for Excellence in Psychotherapy.”
The annual award recognizes and supports the development of psychiatric residents who have demonstrated interest and ability in psychodynamic psychotherapy and/or psychodynamic psychiatry or have shown promise as researchers in biopsychosocial approaches to psychiatric practice, including psychotherapy.
Each year, program directors of psychiatry residency programs are invited to nominate and submit one of their current residents at any level of training for consideration.
The 2022 Austen Riggs Award for Excellence in Psychotherapy recipients are:
Nana Asabere, MD
New York Presbyterian
Abdel Aziz Al Bawab, MD
University of New Mexico
Alexandra Burt, MD
Creighton University
Sally Huang, MD, MS
Stanford University
Maria Paskell, MD
University of Pennsylvania
Matthew J. Rasmussen, MD
Dartmouth University
Bharat Sampathi, MD
Kaiser Permanente San Jose
Kyu Young Oh, MD
Columbia University