Prize for Excellence in Mental Health Media

Prize for Excellence in Mental Health Media

The Austen Riggs Center Prize for Excellence in Mental Health Media recognizes a select group of professional journalists, writers, and media professionals who create exemplary work that contributes to the public’s understanding of mental health issues.

The prize is a prestigious recognition that carries an award of $3,000 and is presented in conjunction with the Center's annual Fall Conference held in Stockbridge, MA. Prizewinners have the opportunity to attend the conference; however, attendance is not required.

The prize is juried by a committee of Riggs clinicians and Trustees who will consider the work of candidates nominated by their peers as well as unsolicited nominations.


To be eligible, work must have been written in English by a living professional writer or writers, intended for the layperson, and must have been first published between April 1, 2017 and March 31, 2018. Deadline for submissions is April 15, 2018.

In addition, preference will be given to work that ties to the theme for the annual Fall Conference (September 29-30, 2018). For 2018, the theme is Neuroscience.

Entries may be submitted online. Entries published in any of the following categories are eligible:

  • Books
  • Newspapers and newspaper websites
  • Magazines and magazine websites
  • Online-only news publications
  • Network and nationally distributed cable programs
  • Small, medium and major market television stations
  • Independent productions
  • Local and national radio
  • Web-based productions
  • Commentary and opinion
  • Longform reporting (series or lengthy articles or broadcasts)

Blog posts will not be accepted. In addition, past prizewinners are not eligible.

You may also download the submission form and mail entries to:

Austen Riggs Center
Prize for Excellence in Mental Health Media
c/o Janet Cooperman Hiser, Director of Communications and Advancement
25 Main Street
Stockbridge, MA  01262

Read about the 2017 prizewinner, the Spotlight Team from the Boston Globe